头部形态和通道交易

       

沪深通道王

 

    

 美股通道王

 

 
在本文中,我们将讨论如何使用通道来判断头部形态,并且如何在头部周围进行操作以获得最大利益和保障。

摘要:

  • 通道比传统头部颈线能更准确,且更早的判断长期上升趋势是否遭到破坏,并据此判断长期头部的形成。
  • 美股通道王,提供准确的头部讯号,让您
    • 在头部附近的极佳时机点获利。清除多头部位。
  • 美股通道王明确的交易讯号,可以避免
    • 舍不得卖出,抱上抱下,甚至等到快接近底部才杀低。来去一场空。
    • 太早或太晚放空或是不敢放空。即使你不想做空,应该要了解放空的基本原理。
    • 掉入多头陷阱 (bull tr​​ap)。
    • 恐慌性没有依据的杀进杀出。

首先,让我们定义什么是通道和5种常见类型的头部。

如果您已经熟悉通道特征和通道交易,请您直接跳到如何使用通道来处理头部的部分。

通道是一种明显趋势的具体形式。

  • 当价格以波浪状移动,幷且具有至少两个波峰和波谷碰触到压力线和支撑线的时候,就形成一个通道。压力线和支撑线必须大致平行,幷且形成这个通道的上墙和下墙。
  • 当股价走势形成一个通道时表示,在这段时间里,人们(散户和大机构)的认知和行动大致相同,幷且不处于恐慌状态之中(股价不是直线上升或下降)。
  • 当通道越长,愈多波峰和波谷触及通道线,则这个通道越可靠。

当一只股票的走势形成长期的月上升通道时,经常反映该公司多年来一直做得相当好。很多波峰和波谷触及通道线意味着,支撑和压力线已经承受过多次测试。一般而言,这样的公司不太可能会突然的变坏。买进抱住 (Buy and hold) 这种股票一般较为安全。

此外由于价格在通道中以波形移动,当我们选择具有通道特性的股票,我们已经排除了直线暴涨的股票,就如同Peter Lynch等大师们教导我们要避免的。

对于一般投资者,我们建议一定要秉持Earning(基本面)和Channel(价格走势)。我们开发了一个遵循通道的原则的工具,称为Earning Channel (美股通道王),以帮助一般投资者更精准的选择目标和交易时机。

原则1:选股

选择基本面与价格变动相匹配的股票,特别是那些股价形成通道形状的股票。

在成千上万的股票中,你可以使用通道来快速缩小目标范围,以取得更好的利润和更低的风险。您可以添加盈余或其他条件,以进一步精选目标。

对于值得“买进抱住”的目标,最好寻找已经在月线图中形成了通道的股票。在还未形成月通道之前要保持弹性,依照通道交易调节持股部位。

但是要如何利用通道进行交易?

我们添加了四条交易线和两个交易点。卖出线和买入线在通道的两壁之内。当价格触及下墙幷反弹回通道购买线时,就达到了通道买入点。通道卖点是当价格触及上墙幷反弹回通道卖出线时。通道买入点是您建立多头部位(头寸)的最佳时机。通道卖点是你调节你的多头部位,幷获得部分利润的时候。

另外两条线,即通道向上突破和向下突破线,主要用于保护每一笔交易。在上升通道中建立多头部位时以向下突破线保护;或在下降通道中建立空头部位时以向上突破线保护。

请注意,所有四条交易线都与通道线相关,因此当价格触及这些线时,它与您的个人成本无关。交易线只与能够移动价格的整体成本相关。Earning Channel (美股通道王) 中这些交易线的默认值是依照通道宽度的百分比设定的。

虽然交易应该主要基于通道,而不是你的个人成本,但是这些线可以微调,以更佳地符合个人条件。例如,当你已经有很大的获利空间,你可以接受较大的容忍度,以用来避免轻微的超涨或超跌。如此,你可能会将向上和向下突破线设定成离开通道远一些。反之,如果你刚刚建立或正在建立你的多头部位,你可以将突破线设成较为靠近通道。

原则2:遵循通道交易以获得最佳时机。

规则1:通道必须有两个波峰和两个波谷。不要在通道尚未形成之前采取行动。

规则2:当通道遭到破坏时清仓。 回到规则1。

规则3:不要在反方向建立仓位。不在向下通道做多,或向上通道做空。

规则4:在通道中,使用通道买点和卖点来进行买卖,以建立一个多头部位。

规则5:使用向上突破来从长期上升通道中获得适当的利润。

规则6:始终使用向下突破来保护上升通道中的多头部位。

了解了通道和通道交易的基本原理后,我们可以运用它们来处理头部。

现在让我们来检视什么是头部?

  • 头部必须有一个长的上升趋势。 “任何逆转形态的一个先决条件是先前存在一种趋势。”约翰·墨菲说。

因此,对于拥有通道的股票,在达到头部之前,必须有一个长期的月或周上升通道,最好是月上升通道。

  • 当推动价格的力气耗尽时,就形成一个头部。尤其当有些人账面上已经获得好几倍利润,这些人有任何风吹草动就会获利了结。 或是,当买家比卖家少得多。 当有危机时。 当价格远超过内含价值时。 当公司(景气)的未来变得不清楚时。
  • 规模不同的股票(或指数),到达头部的方式(速度与量能)不同,或是不同的基本面(或经济面或政策面),都将导致向上运动的停止或反转的方式不同,因此形成不同的头部形态。
  • 常见的头部形态是
    1. 头肩顶
    2. M头或双重顶
    3. 三重顶
    4. 圆型顶,碟型顶
    5. 尖峰顶或反向V顶

当价格下降到头部颈线以下时,头部就被认为完成。 颈部线是主波的两(或三)个波谷的连接。

头肩顶和M头是两个最常见的头部。三重顶可以当作是头肩顶的变形。这些头部很常见,因为他们遵循自然规律,被自己的重量压下来。

头部也经常发生在经济循环周期的头部。许多新手常被P/E愚弄。由于在一个经济循环的高点时,是公司或一个产业赚最多钱的时候,收入(EPS)是最好的,所以P/E是低的。那时一切看起来都很美好,觉得可以买进抱住。然而,也就是股价正要往下降的时候。因此,要在股市赚钱,您必须同时看懂公司的基本面 (Earning) 和股价的走势 (Channel)。

圆形顶通常是人为干预的结果。因为理论上,头部不会保持太久。 “头部形态通常持续时间更短,比底部的波动性 (volatility)更强。”约翰·墨菲说。

从2014年到2016年中期,美国市场的主要指数似乎即将形成圆形顶。但是,在大选之后,指数运动又被推回到DJ和SNP的长期的月上升通道。

重大指数的横盘走势似乎是由于QE释出大量钞票(追逐股票)和股价太高(卖股票)的拉锯战。 在我们看来,量化宽松已经扭曲了正常的股市运动。至于基于臆测新政策所可能带来的效益,而所采取的投机和赌博性投资则更加令人不安。 不理会债务也不理法规而一味的追求增长,对于许多公司而言已经被证明是一次又一次的灾难。 一个超级大型的公司(国家)又会有什么区别? 请小心指数及指数形ETFs。 要密切注意通道向上突破和向下突破。

反V形是飙升的股票,是大师们教我们要避免。

现在,让我们使用通道来处理五种类型的头部,幷查看何时进行交易。

在头部或附近,应该

  1. 卖出,幷在需要时清空多头部位。
  2. 当形成下降趋势(通道)时,放空。

让我们看看最简单的一种,反向V。 反V一定会打破原来的长期上升通道。如果你没有这样的股票,不要追逐它。它通常是长途赛跑的最后一棒,幷且接近头部。

如果你很幸运在火箭升空前已经拥有这样的股票,你应该在向上突破通道时调节部位获取一些利润 (请记住您已经赚很多了)。你应该在燃料耗尽时,也就是当价格停止上涨幷回到原来通道的向上突破线时,出清大部分多头部位。如果你仍然没有出清你的多头部位,至少当价格回到原来的长期通道的通道卖线时应该兑现。当价格向上喷出,回跌时可能更加迅猛。

如果你还是犹豫,通道提供您最后一道防线,你至少应该在原始的长期上升通道被向下突破时清仓。

这时后股价波动性已经变得太高,最好远离。如果你找不到更好的投资目标(使用 Earning Channel, 你经常可以找到好的目标),应该保持现金,等候机会。对于高度波动性的股票,我们也不推荐做多也不推荐反手卖空,因为它是相当危险的。 请参阅“如何处理轧空”。

现在让我们回到最常见的头部,头肩顶,和M头

通常,当价格突破颈线时,头部就算确立。 然而,很难用传统方式采取适当的行动,因为,头部常有变化。 例如,M头可以变成三重顶,有时甚至多个顶。 我们如何采取适当的行动?

让我们使用通道来观测头部。

上升通道的向下突破线给出了清晰的,且大部分时间早于传统颈线的信号。 注意,向下突破线是突破以前的长期通道,从而逆转长期趋势。 应该关注重点是以前的趋势是否确实被打破,而不是近期的价格走势。

如果双重顶或头肩顶的右肩被延伸而形成多重头,则当价格到达长期上升通道的向下突破线时,所采取的动作仍然是清仓。

如果你想放空,甚至重新建立一个多头部位,你应该遵循规则1:等待一个新通道的形成,至少有两个波峰和波谷。 有了这层保护,你就比较不会轻易的去抄底做多或是放空被轧。

使用通道来检视头部的另一个重要因素是第一头部经常打破长期上升通道的原始斜率。 这是一个自然原因,原因如下:

  1. 当动量减少时,头部形成。 所以,在第一个头之后,价格运动是横向或向下。 与原始长期上升通道的上升斜率相比,未来的斜率将更低。
  2. 头部(或第一头部)到左肩的斜率,通常比左肩到左肩前的波峰更陡。 推力是:
    1. 股票变得太热,许多人抢着买,因此形成头部。
    2. 造市者或主要参与者(公司高层,机构法人)想要将股票卖得更高。 目标价格范围已经达到,因此形成头部.

 

因此,当在持久的上升通道的头部附近发生向上突破时,是获取利润的时候。 此外,当利润很大时,可以将突破线向下移动以更早触发利润。例如最近很多银行高层就落袋为安。

“Goldman Sachs, Morgan Stanley, JPM Execs Sold Almost $100M in Stock Since Election”

http://www.foxbusiness.com/markets/2017/01/23/goldman-sachs-morgan-stanley-j-p-morgan-execs-have-sold-almost-100mm-in-stock-since-election.html

另外请参阅“Stocks to take profit from”.

上述的特点也是运用通道可以避免多头陷阱 (bull trap)的原因。 多头陷阱是指第二个头部稍高于第一个头部。以传统的颈线操作,投资人常常在颈线卖出,又在第二个高点买进。如果用通道就不会发生这种错误的操作。

相同的形态,当我们以通道来进行交易,A点和C点附近是卖出获利点,B点附近是买入点,只有当通道跌破向下突破线, D点,才是确定通道被破坏和头部的形成。

头部附近的正确操作:

  1. 卖: 获利了结
  2. 清仓
  3. 握住现金、等待时机
  4. 等待一个新的通道形成,不论上升或下降

长期上升通道被向下突破后的操作如下。

1. 当最后一个波峰向上突破的长期上升通道时,卖出以获得主要利润。

  1. 当已经获利许多时,将向上突破线移动靠近通道壁,以免卖得比别人慢。
  2. 三次获利机会
    1. 第一次价格触及通道向上突破线,卖出一些。
    2. 卖大半,当价格突破了向上突破线,又快速向下跌回向上突破线。
    3. 如果价格没有触及向上突破线,在通道卖点卖出一些。当已经获利数倍,价格和价值脱离时,不该继续蒙着眼采取”买进抱住”,否则财富又是过云烟。

2. 清仓

  1. 当价格通过通道向上突破线返回通道时,应该在通道卖点卖出大部分仓位。
  2. 如果价格没有到达通道向上突破线,在通道卖点卖出一些。
  3. 清仓,当价格向下突破长期上升通道的向下突破。

3. 当价格到达上升通道的向下突破时,原始通道被视为破坏。 之后无论你想买或卖,你需要遵循通道交易规则一, 等到一个新通道形成。 所以,你应该旁观一段时间。 如果你有兴趣的是主要市场或指数的ETF,你需要等待。 如果是个别股票,你应该使用美股通道王寻找其他机会。

请参阅“现在购买什么? 可口可乐怎么样?”

4. 当新通道形成时,可以建立新的空头部位。 正如John Murphy和其他人所指出的。

1. 形态越大,随后的跌势越大。

2. 下降的最小期望将是从头部到颈线的距离。

3. 最大值下降是整个上升通道的高度。 当然,个股真正的最大值是下降到零。

我们之前讨论过如何放空:

“要放空什么?如何DIY放空?”

“如何处理轧空,DIY?”

“Valeant(VRX)放空还是做多?”

在先前的文章中,我们讨论了使用通道来放空的技巧。我们还敦促一般投资者不要放空那些已经下跌了很多(接近底部),不做没有保护的放空,不做没有机制的放空,没有看懂基本面和价格走势不要放空。

由于我们正在讨论头部,当长期上升通道遭到逆转时,很可能是放空的好机会。

但是,必定要以基本面再度确认放空的机会,幷且估计股票是否会下跌一大段。一个好的放空目标应是一个明显衰退的公司或产业,或至少在一个重大的景气循环的下跌段。

一旦你确认了公司的基本面,那么好的放空时机是

  1. 价格变动至少形成日下降通道(两个波峰,两个波谷)。
  2. 日下降通道的波谷必须低于长期月上升通道的向下突破线。
  3. 然后,您可以开始在日下降通道的通道放空点开始建立空头部位。

希望这个讨论对你有用。

祝你的投资好运。

美股通道王的软件、与网站上和社交媒体上的文章、以及使用说明书上的所有建议,仅提供作为如何运此软体工具的参考,以帮助用户形成自己的市场分析能力和做出自己的投资决策。用户必须对他们如何使用这些信息在股市进行投资做最终的负责。美股通道王的相关内容及文章中提供的信息不应被理解为买卖证券的直接建议。

Topping Patterns and Channel Trading

         

Earning Channel

 

In this article we will discuss how to look at tops using channels, and when and how to act around the tops.

Summary

  • Channel lines can provide earlier and more accurate indications if a long-term up-trend has been broken, and thus the forming of a top.
  • Earning Channel can provide optimal timing for
    • profit taking and cleaning the long position.
  • Earning Channel can prevent you from
    • unwilling to sell, holding up and down, and never cashing in.
    • being trapped by a bull trap.
    • taking up a short position too early or too late. Even if you don’t want to short, you have better know how to do it.
    • panicking buying and selling without logical judgment.

First, let’s define what is a channel and the 5 common types of tops.

For those of you who are familiar with the characteristics of channel and channel trading, you may want to jump to the part where we discuss how to use channels to deal with tops.

A channel is a specific form of an obvious trend.

  • A channel is formed when the price moves in a waveform and has at least two peaks and dips (troughs) touching the resistance and supporting lines, and these two lines are about parallel.
  • A channel indicates, in the period of time, people (little guys as well as institutions) think and act alike and are not in a panicking mode (the price movement is not straight up nor straight down).
  • The longer the channel, the more touches the peaks and dips, the more reliable the channel is.

A long-term monthly up-channel of a stock often reflects that the company has been doing quite well for years. More touches mean the supporting and resistance lines have been tested several times and are withstanding. It is rather unlikely such a company will have abrupt changes. Thus, it is safer to buy and hold this kind of stocks.

In addition, since the price moves in a waveform, we already excluded the skyrocketing stocks told to be avoided by gurus like Peter Lynch.

For ordinary investors, we recommend sticking to Earning (the fundamentals) and Channel (the price movement). We developed a tool, called Earning Channel to assist ordinary investors in selecting targets and in trading based on the principles of channels.

Principle 1: Stock picking

Choose the stocks whose fundamentals match the price movements, and especially those forming channel shapes.

There are thousands of stocks, you can use the channel to quickly narrow down the candidates that could give you better profits with fewer risks. You can add earning criteria or other criteria to further narrowing down the candidates in Earning Channel.

For candidates to “buy and hold” it is better to look for a stock that has already formed a channel in the monthly chart.

But how to make use of the channel to trade?

We added four trading lines and two trading points. A sell line and a buy line are within the boundary of the two walls of the channel. A channel buy point is reached when the price touched the lower wall and bounces back to the channel buy line. A channel sell point is when the price touched the upper wall and bounces back to the channel sell line. A channel buy point is the optimal timing for you to build up a long position. A channel sell point is a time for you to regulate your long position, and to take some profits.

The two lines, channel breakout upward (break-up) and downward (break-down), are used mainly to guard the trading either for establishing a long position with an up-channel or a short position with a down channel.

Please notice that all four trading lines are related to the channel lines, and thus when the price touches these lines it has nothing to do with your personal cost. It has to do only with the cost of all participants that moves the price. The default values of these lines in Earning Channel are percentages of the channel width.

Although the trading should be based mainly on the channel and not on your personal cost, the lines could be adjusted to better suit personal conditions. For instance, when you already have a major gain, you have a better tolerance to avoid minor overshoots and undershoots, then, you may want to set the break-up and break-down line wider apart. On the other hand, if you just established or are establishing your long position, you may set the break-down tighter.

Principle 2: follow channel trading for optimal timing.

Rule 1: A channel must have two peaks and two dips. Don’t act before a channel is formed.

Rule 2: Go away, when a channel is broken. Back to rule 1.

Rule 3: Don’t establish positions in the wrong direction. Don’t buy on the way down. Don’t short on the way up.

Rule 4: Within a channel, use channel buy point and sell point to conduct buying and selling in building up a long position.

Rule 5: Use channel break-up to take proper profits from a long-term up-channel.

Rule 6: Always use channel break-down to stop losses for an up-channel.

With the basic understanding of channel and channel trading, we are now ready to use them to handle tops.

Now let’s see what is a top?

  • A top must be preceded by a long upward trend. “A perquisite for any reversal pattern is the existence of a prior trend.” ”A market must obviously have something to reverse.” said John Murphy.

So for our stocks that have channels, before reaching the top, there must be a long monthly or weekly up-channel, preferably a monthly up-channel.

  • A top is formed when the price movement is running out of steam. Those who already gained multiple times would be ready to sell at any slightest alert. When the buyers are much less than the sellers. When there is a crisis. When the price overly stretches the underlying value. When the future becomes unclear.
  • Different scale of stocks (or index), different ways of reaching the tops, and different fundamentals (or economy or policy), lead to different ways of exhausting the upward movement, and thus the forming of different topping patterns.
  • Common topping patterns are
    1. Head and Shoulders tops
    2. M-head or double tops
    3. Triple tops
    4. Round shape or Saucers
    5. Spike or Reverse V

A head is considered completed when the price drops below the neckline of the head. The neckline is the connection of the two (or three) dips of the major wave.

Head-and-shoulders and M-head are the two most common tops. A triple tops can be considered as a variation of head and shoulders. These tops are most common, because they follow nature laws, what goes up too high must come down.

Regular heads also happened on the tops of economic cycles. Many novices are fooled by just looking at the P/E. Since at the highest of an economic cycle, the company or an industry is making the most money, the earning (EPS) is great, so the P/E is low. Everything looks rosy. But then, it is on the way down. Therefore, one should learn both the Earning as well as the Channel to make money in stock.

A round top is often a result of manual interference. Because normally, a top will not stay too long. “Topping patterns are usually shorter in duration and more volatile than bottoms.” said John Murphy.

Round tops seemed about to be formed for the major indices of the US market, from 2014 to the mid of 2016. However, after the election, the indices movement were pushed back to within the long-term monthly channels for DJ and SNP.

The round shape could have been caused by the money supplied of QE (to chase the stock) and by the price exceeding the value (to sell the stock). In our point of view, the QE already distorted the normal movement. The speculation or the gambling of the new policies are even more disturbing. The pursuing of growth disregarding the debts and regulations have been proven to be disastrous for many companies, again and again. What might be the difference of a mega company? Be careful on the indices and their ETFs. Watch out for channel break-down.

The reverse V shape is the skyrocketing stock, taught to be avoided.

Now let’s use the channel to interpret the five types of tops and to see when to make a trade.

At or near the top, one should

  1. Sell, and to clean the long position when needed.
  2. Short, when a downward trend (channel) is formed.

Let’s look at the simplest one, the reverse-V, first. The V will definitely break-up the original long-term channel. If you have not already owned such a stock, don’t chase it. It is often the last leg of a long run and is approaching the top.

If you are lucky to already own such a stock before the rocket launched, you should take some profits at channel break-up. You should take most if not all of your profits when the steam exhausted, that is when the price went up and fell back to the channel break-up line. If you still haven’t clean up your long position, consider doing so when the price falls back to the original long-term channel. The price broke-up like a knife, mostly likely, it will break-down like a knife as well. Don’t try to catch it.

If you still hesitate, you should at least clean your position at channel break-down. The stock has become very volatile, it is better to stay away. If you can’t find better candidates to invest (which you often can using Earning Channel), just stay on the sidelines. For volatile stocks, we also do not recommend to short, as it is quite dangerous.

Please refer to “How to handle short-squeeze”.

Now let’s come back to the most common tops, head and shoulders, and M-head.

Conventionally, a top is confirmed when the price breaks the neckline. However, it is hard to take a proper action, since, there are variations. For instance, a double tops may become a triple tops, and sometimes even multiple tops. How do we take proper actions?

Let’s look at the tops using channels.

The channel break-down on a long-term up-channel gives a clear, and most of the time earlier, signal than the conventional neckline. Notice that, the channel break-down is to break the previous long-term channel, thus the reversal of the longer-term trend. One should focus if the previous trend is broken and not the recent price movement around the top.

In case a double top or a right shoulder is stretched to form multiple tops, the action to be taken here is still to clean the long position when the price reaches the channel break-down line.

If you want to short or even to rebuild a long position, you should follow rule 1: wait for the forming a new channel, with at least two peaks and dips. With this protection, you will be much less likely to be trapped by short-squeezing or bottom fishing.

Another important factor to exam the tops using channels is that the first top often breaks up the long-term up-channel. This is a natural cause, for the following reasons:

  1. A top is forming when the momentum is dwindling. So, after the first head, the price movement is either sideway or downward. In comparison to the up-slope of the original long-term up-channel, the slope will be lower in the future.
  2. The slope of the head (or the first head) is often steeper than the slope of the left shoulder or the peaks before the left shoulder. The pushing forces are:
    1. Many people want to get in. The stock became too hot, and thus the top.
    2. The market movers or major players (insiders, institutions) want to sell it higher. The targeted price range has been reached, and thus the top.

Therefore, when there is a break-up near the top of a long lasting up-channel, it is time to take profits. In addition, when the profit is substantial, one can move the break-up line lower to have an earlier trigger for the profit taking. For instance, many high level managers in the banking industry took their profits recently.

“Goldman Sachs, Morgan Stanley, JPM Execs Sold Almost $100M in Stock Since Election”

http://www.foxbusiness.com/markets/2017/01/23/goldman-sachs-morgan-stanley-j-p-morgan-execs-have-sold-almost-100mm-in-stock-since-election.html

Please also refer to “Stocks to take profit from”.

The characteristic of channels above can be applied to avoid bull trap. Bull trap happens when the second top is slightly higher than the first top horizontally. Novices often sold at the neckline at B and bought at the highest of C, thinking that the bull-run will continue.

The bull trap will be automatically avoided using channel trading. In channel trading, the break-up of C would be lower than that of A. Otherwise it is most likely a continuation of the long-term channel and not the forming a head. In channel trading one should take profit around A and C, and clear position only at D when the channel is broken down.

Actions to take near the top:

  1. Take profit
  2. Clean position
  3. Stay on the sidelines
  4. Wait for a new channel to form for either short or long

The actions following channel trading are depicted below.

1. Take major profit when the last peak break-up the original long-term up-channel.

  1. Move the break-up closer to the channel wall, when the gain is high.
  2. Take profit on three occasions
    1. The first time the price touches the channel break-up, sell some.
    2. Sell most, when the price broke through the break-up line, and comes back down to the break-up line.
    3. Sell some at the channel-sell-point, in case the price did not touch the break-up line.

2. Clean position

  1. When price passed through the channel break-up and come back to the channel, then sell most of the position at the channel-sell-point.
  2. If the price did not reach the channel break-up, sell some at channel-sell-point.
  3. Clean the position at channel break-down line of a long-term up-channel.

3. When the price reaches the channel break down, the original channel is considered broken. When you want to buy or short, you need to follow rule one of channel trading – wait till a channel is formed. So, for a while, you should be standing on the sidelines and watch. For major market or index, you just wait. For stock, you should just look for other opportunities using Earning Channel.

Please refer to “What to buy now? How about Coca-Cola?

4. When a new channel is formed, you can establish a new position. As pointed out by John Murphy and others.

  1. The larger the pattern, the greater the subsequent move.
  2. The minimum expectation of the fall will be the distance from the head to the neckline.
  3. The maximum is falling to the beginning of the trend (channel). Of course, the true maximum is falling to zero.

Clearly, there is a chance to short in the reversal of a large pattern.

We have discussed how to short on:

“What to short now and how DIY?”

“How to handle short-squeeze, DIY?”

“Valeant (VRX) short or long?”

In the above articles we discussed techniques for shorting using channels. We also urged ordinary investors not to short those already declined a lot (near their bottom), not to short without protection, not to short without mechanisms, not to short without looking at both the fundamentals and the price movement.

Since we are now at tops, when a long-term up-channel has been reversed, it represents a good chance to short. The maximum expectation is the height of the full up-channel.

Still, one needs to reconfirm the opportunity with the fundamentals and to estimate if the stock may fall hard and long. A good candidate to short would be a company or an industry, that is clearly on the decline, or at least in a major correction.

Once you confirm with the company fundamentals, then it is a good time to short when

  1. The price movement forms at least a daily down-channel (two peaks, two dips).
  2. The low of the daily down-channel must break the long-term monthly channel’s break-down line.
  3. You can then start to build up a short position at the channel-short-point of the daily down-channel.

Hope this discussion is useful to you.

Good luck on your investment.

The Earning Channel software, as well as the articles, tutorials and suggestions in the website and social media, are provided as tools and references to help users develop their own market analyses and make their own investment decisions. Users are ultimately responsible for the way in which they use this information to invest in the stock market. Nothing associated with the Earning Channel or the information presented in articles and tutorials should be interpreted as direct advice on buying or selling of securities.